Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for March 21st, 2010

Fitbloggin: The Conference

Let me start out by saying Fitbloggin has the most awesome swag EVER. Yesterday morning we did a 5k run in new shoes from New Balance, who also gave us running shorts. New Balance pretty much rocked this conference.

Love my shoes!

DSC_0055

They were super comfy, and well cushioned for a stability shoe, but they are comparable to a shoe a level below my Asics, and did not have quite enough support for me to wear them running. I’d totally wear them to the gym for a strength training work + elliptical though!

Afterwards, Quaker served us breakfast.

DSC_0002

TONS of toppings!

DSC_0001

Pecans, craisins, brown sugar and honey!

The first session I attended was Blogs, Accessibility and SEO: Dispelling the Myths with Scott Stawartz

DSC_0008 DSC_0007

It was really useful and informative, especially since I know nothing about SEO.

Savvy Julie was there!

DSC_0009

I loved meeting her, she is so sweet and genuine!

We had a quick break afterward, followed by the second session, of which I picked WordPress: From .com to .org with Jim Doran.

DSC_0015 DSC_0014

Jim was a great speaker and I really enjoyed learning the ins and outs of WordPress and what you can do with it.

Lunch was next on the agenda, and I was totally impressed with the selection!

DSC_0017

I had a chicken panini with steamed veggies on the side and a spinach salad that was divine!

For dessert there was a selection of fresh fruit + jello.

DSC_0022

I had both. 😉

The weather was fabulous, and a few of us were dying to get out, so we took a quick walk around the harbor.

DSC_0028

DSC_0030

Baltimore is so pretty right now. Love all the water. And sunshine.

After the walk we met back in the lunch room for some announcements.

DSC_0035

I thought this was cute.

I chose to go to Beyond the Blog: Getting Published, which was amaze.

DSC_0042

DSC_0041

I loved hearing everyone’s ‘getting published’ stories, as well as advice from agent Linda Konner.

Between sessions I grabbed an orange + coffee to snack on.

DSC_0044

I kept my seat from the last session and stayed for Making Money on Your Blog: Could You, Should You, Would You?

DSC_0045

The panel of speakers were really interesting, but I don’t believe I will be making a living from blogging any time soon. The tips were really useful, and it was interesting hearing from people who did make a living from blogging.

That rounded out sessions for the day, and everyone headed to the main room for the keynote speaker followed by a reception by Jell-O.

I grabbed some free sushi and a cute Jell-O cup.

DSC_0048

I never eat Jell-O, but I had it twice yesterday because it was served so freaking adorably.

DSC_0050

Love it.

All in all, Fitbloggin had it goin’ on. Great food, great people, great speakers…Can’t wait for next year!

****

PS: All my notes from the sessions I attended have been posted to my twitter. I know several of you guys that could not attend wanted them. If you can’t find them, just e-mail or tweet me and I will send you the link!

Read Full Post »