Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for July 8th, 2009

2 Timothy 4:3 (The Message)

You’re going to find that there will be times when people will have no stomach for solid teaching, but will fill up on spiritual junk food—catchy opinions that tickle their fancy.

No junky food here. Just some plain ol’ good eats.

I went all Nutcracker at bfast and had sugar plum fairy oats again.

CIMG1532

In RED BOWL of course.

RED BOWL ‘twas happy to be filled with such deliciousness. Of course he has never been filled with nastiness, but still. Sugar plum fairy oats are exceptional.

I then went all garbage collector and recycled at lunch.

CIMG1541

Last night’s leftovers + spinach.

It was equally as good recycled as it was fresh.

+ an orange

CIMG1545

gotta get that Vitamin C!

 

La, la, la, la:
Yeah, yeah, yeah
La, la, la, la:
We will still be friends forever

CIMG1554

Speaking of friends, I spy a zucchini trying to make a quick escape with his pal onion! Get back here, you!

After corralling stray veggies and posting about birthday cakes I resumed work. Until the tum growled for a snack.

I satisfied it with some peanut buttery action.

CIMG1558

Then I finished my work and went to the casa.

Where I procrastinated over the gym until I decided to hit up some SPIN!

I haven’t taken spin classes in probably six months. I completely forgot how SWEATY you get. I looked like I jumped in a lake. I added few upper body exercises:

  • 10 hammer curls + cross lunges
  • 10 front dumbbell raises
  • 10 side dumbbell raises
  • 15 chest press + fly combo
  • 15 bench triceps press
  • 10 alternate bicep curl
  • 10 push ups

I did this circuit x2 with 10 and 5 lb weights and headed home for some flat out action, which I had conjured up while lifting weights.

It was as delish as I imagined.

CIMG1562

  • flatout
  • slice of pepper jack cheese
  • black beans + corn
  • lettuce
  • homemade pico de gallo.

I know you can’t see the beans, corn or cheese for the lettuce and pico de gallo.

Here is a half eaten shot:

CIMG1575

See: Corn, beans and cheese.

Very tasty to my tasty buds.

I had sides of more tastiness:

CIMG1568

Cherries + more pico de gallo + a few crumbly multigrain chips from the bottom of the bag.

CIMG1573

Close up of that delicious pico action.

You know I didn’t stop there.

Oh no.

CIMG1586

Squash Pie!

Ok, if you don’t live in the south and didn’t grow up having Mama D to make this for you, well, you probably think I am a bit crazy. Squash in pie? Yes, squash in pie. With some lemon and a bit of sugar + other delicious ingredients. It’s really quite light and falls pretty close to the ‘healthy’ category. I love it. I have loved it since I was knee high to a grasshopper. I don’t see our relationship changing anytime soon. We shall probably only grow closer, as I follow in family tradition and make it for future generations.

You can make it too.

Squash Pie

(makes 2 pies)

Filling:

  • 2.5 cups yellow squash
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 2 tablespoons cornstarch
  • 2 eggs
  • zest and juice of 1 lemon

In blender combine squash, sugar, cornstarch and lemon juice. Blend until smooth. Add eggs, blend well. Add lemon peel, pulse gently until mixed. Pour into 2 unbaked 9” pie shells. Bake at 350 degrees for 35-40 minutes.

You have two choices with the crust. Either buy it at the grocery or make your own. Usually we like to make our own. It’s just the way it’s done. 

Crust:

  • 1 egg
  • 3 cups all purpose flour
  • 1 cup whole wheat flour
  • 1/2 cup water
  • 1.75 cup shortening
  • 1 tablespoon vinegar
  • 1 tablespoon sugar
  • 1 teaspoon salt.

Cut shortening into flour. In a separate bowl, mix water, vinegar, sugar, salt and egg. Whisk together. Add wet ingredients to dry ingredients. Split dough into two sections and roll out into 10”-11” circles. Place in 9” pie pan and fill with the pie filling.

Do the darn thang and make yourself a squash pie. Or two. It will make your belly happy.

Read Full Post »

teeny tiny lady bugs

I interrupt my regular blog schedule to bring you this:

CIMG1502

The prettiest birthday cake EVER.

Seriously, check out the details:

CIMG1504

CIMG1505

CIMG1506

Icing flowers and teeny tiny icing lady bugs!

This cake was not made by anyone I actually know personally, but still. Whoever decorated this baby has mad skillz!

These cookies, on the other hand were made by people I know personally.

CIMG1509

Grandma cookies.

CIMG1507

Aunt cookies.

As was this ice cream:

CIMG1513

Homemade Mint Chocolate Chip!

All celebration of this lady:

CIMG1511 

Smile! It’s ya birthday!

Of course you know I couldn’t say no to chocolate cake + mint chocolate chip ice cream.

CIMG1521

Lap shot.

 

What’s your favorite cake + ice cream combo?

Mine is most definitely chocolate cake and mint chocolate chip ice cream.

To die for.

Read Full Post »