Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for July 28th, 2009

And I thought my eats couldn’t get any better.

CIMG2543

Well, apples and chocolate soybeans are not exactly earth shattering, but they are darn tasty.

Really what I am speaking of comes later.

But first I must report that I ran a very sweaty 4.5 miles in the 93 degree heat. I tweeted as to whether I should or not, but I don’t think anyone really cared as I got no response. I’m pretty much awesome like that. Also my picture was blurry, so maybe no one could tell what I was talking about? Yeah, that’s probably it.

So I came home guzzled an Aquafina and did some strength moves.

  • 10 chest presses
  • 10 bent over rows
  • 10 bicep curls
  • 10 tricep extensions
  • 10 shoulder raises

This circuit x3 with 8 lb weights.

So although sweaty, I was also quite hangry, so I put some lentils on to simmer while I cooled off with a fruit appetizer.

CIMG2552

Froze fruit + yogurt x2

What can I say? It was that good.

I also took some pics of Mama D’s newest bouquet while waiting.

CIMG2551

CIMG2555

The lady is like a the flower queen! You should see her garden.

Whilst playing photographer Mama D and I hit upon an excellent idea. Recall that pizza Linden and I made the other week? Well I had the other half of the dough in the fridge. SCORE! We popped that stuff in the oven, topped it with a little EVOO, sea salt, parm and fresh rosemary for a delicious bread.

CIMG2566

Um yes. Make this immediately. And have me over for dinner.

It went excellently with my planned lentil salad.

CIMG2567

Spinach, tomato (homegrown, I do eat those raw) and spicy lentils topped with parm. Quite a yumtastic salad.

CIMG2572 

I may or may not have eaten another slice of bread. Or two.

I am going to bed happy. I have had the most excellent day of eats today. My tummy loves me right now.

Psalm 51:1 (The Message)

Generous in love—God, give grace! Huge in mercy—wipe out my bad record. Scrub away my guilt, soak out my sins in your laundry. I know how bad I’ve been; my sins are staring me down

God loves me too. I can really go to bed happy. Tummy + God love me.

Read Full Post »

2 thumbs up

I have fully made up for yesterday’s snack fail with two of the most delicious meals EVER!

CIMG2520

Tropical Oats

  • 1/4 cup steel cut oats
  • 1/2 cup almond breeze
  • 1/4 cup pineapple juice
  • 1 banana
  • 2 pineapple rings
  • 2 dates
  • 4 mandarin oranges
  • chopped pecans
  • coconut

Can you say breakfast success?

CIMG2513

Seriously, the crunchy, chewy, fruity mix of these ingredients made the most wonderful bowl of oats ever, bar none.

CIMG2515

Check out all those textures!

Now for the second meal success.

I was rooting about in the freezer last night when I stumbled on some tilapia. Cha-ching!

CIMG2537

Fish tacos!

  • 1 small piece of tilapia
  • 2 corn tortillas
  • spinach
  • 1 jalapeno
  • creole seasoning
  • Mrs. Dash chipolte lime seasoning
  • Mrs. Dash southwest chipolte seasoning
  • hot sauce

I seasoned the tilapia with the spices and rubbed it with a bit of hot sauce, then cooked it in a pan with the jalapenos until it was white and flaky.

CIMG2523

I served it on the tortillas, over a bed of spinach

CIMG2525

topped with an ah-mazing + easy peasy sauce.

  • 0% plain greek yogurt
  • Frank’s hot sauce

I just mixed the two ingredients together until I had the desired degree of hotness and poured it over the top.

And because every meal is better with hummus:

CIMG2528

Carrot sticks and roasted red pepper hummus on the side.

CIMG2535

Can you say heaven?

Now after those fabulous meals, what’s for dinner? I had better get to brainstorming…

QOTD: What is your favorite hot sauce combo?

I think hot sauce goes on anything, but this yogurt + hot sauce stuff rocked! I am trying to come up with as many dishes as possible to eat it with.

 

PS: Joe and Betsy are having an awesome jeans giveaway. Go check it out!

Read Full Post »