Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for September 14th, 2009

Lara bars make me smile.

DSCN1637

‘Specially the ones with ‘cookie’ on the end. Love.

You know what else makes me smile?

You guys.

When I posted I was considering running 7 miles and needed some encouragement, your comments were awesome. They kept me pumped the entire run, which was a pretty nice 7 miles, despite my ankles hurting towards the end. I really need new shoes. Gonna have to budget for those.

I must say the comment that really made me say ‘I’m going to do it’ was from Chandra.

She said:

Do it, do it, do it!!! I’m going to attempt 4-5 miles with hopes that my chest congestion clears up this afternoon and lets me breathe.. So do it for me in case I can’t!! 😉

That really hit home for me. I run because I love to run, but some days it’s all I can do to make myself hit the pavement. Her comment made me think about my dearest uncle. He is in a wheelchair. Has been since a car accident when he was sixteen years old. What I take for granted; running down the street is something that he would love to be able to do just one more time. When I run my marathon, it’s going to be for my uncle. I will never take my running for granted because of him. In just an instant, it can all be gone.

What if I couldn’t run? That’s why I ran today.

If you are a runner, why do you run?

For my after run fuel I had a bean ‘burrito’.

DSCN1641

  • refried beans
  • jalapenos
  • taco sauce
  • cheese
  • romaine leaf

And some hummus + corn chile dip with blue chippers on the side.

DSCN1639

😀

DSCN1638

I just love romaine ‘tacos’ and ‘burritos’.

Dessert was banana soft serve topped with an almond butter mix and marshmallows.

DSCN1642

I know, the marshmallows kind of ruin the whole healthy effect I was going for with the banana soft serve. Ah well, it was a substitution for my beloved coconut, which we were out of, strangely. 😉

Chocolate Almond Butter ‘syrup’

  • 1 spoonful almond butter
  • cocoa
  • vanilla
  • dash of honey
  • dash of almond milk

Stir, stir, stir and pour over your frozen good of choice.

After polishing off that bowl of heaven, I did some baking. YUM. You shall have to wait and see what it was.

Or I could tell you.

Just a hint, then.

Chocolate + zucchini.

Read Full Post »

Why hello Monday.

Wasn’t expecting you quite so soon.

DSCN1630

Thank goodness for the following:

  • Honey Oikos
  • banana
  • dates
  • Uncle Sam wheat flakes

They all come together pretty quickly for a tasty breakfast.

DSCN1632

Guess what was on my calendar this morning?

If you said dentist appointment, well then you must follow me on twitter.

I think I tweeted something to this effect:

Ugh, it’s Monday and I have a dentist appointment. Could this be a worse combination?

I think you could say I had a case of the Mondays. Also I should floss more. Just throwing that out there.

DSCN1634

My salad did much to cheer me up.

  • spinach
  • strawberries
  • nectarine
  • grapes

Mmmmm, fruity salad. Makes me sad for summers end. But mention a pumpkin spice latte, and I will perk up like a cat when it hears the can opener. (Maybe that’s just my cat?)

DSCN1635

This cake did even more to cheer me up.

I’m not sure exactly what it is, Kasey gave it to me last night when we met for dinner. I was too stuffed to consume it last night, but such was not the case today.

‘Twas delicious. Some kind of almond thing. Yummola, Kasey. Yummola.

Ok, back to work!

I am thinking about running 7 miles tonight. Encourage me, please.

Read Full Post »